Girls can be legitimate baseball fans – and not just butt watchers

Polarizing Baseball

In the “About Me” section of my blog I’ve written:
“While I enjoy discussing all things baseball, please remember this blog is a creative way for me to express my personal thoughts about baseball and is not intended to cause any negativity.”

Before I wrote anything, I was prepared for anyone who read my work to disagree with points I might make. First and foremost, I am a Yankee fan who does not live in or near New York. People honestly either love the Yankees, or they hate “the Evil Empire.” Since I live in close proximity to Baltimore and am surrounded by Orioles fans, I’m used to the latter.

By nature, I am a peaceful person and try to avoid negativity. I can handle people disagreeing with my opinions and will respect someone else when they explain their point of view. (I am less tolerate of people who make a statement with no substance or no reason.)

In this off season there is no shortage of rumors about possible trades and free agent signings. Every baseball fan has their own ideas of what their team should do – and probably what other teams should do with their own rosters. Those differences of opinions are great! It shows we are all devoted baseball fans and passionate about our favorite teams and players.

Unfortunately, I’ve witnessed some strong negativity toward opposing opinions. Believe me, there is a lot written about baseball that I disagree with. Some of my favorite blogs have even posted articles I almost completely disagree with! When that happens, I acknowledge the writer is making their point, and I move on. Like the saying goes “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.” (Friendly debate, however, is acceptable.)

This reminds me of It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown. (Peanuts happens to be my favorite cartoon.) You’ve probably seen it and remember Linus’ quote:
“There are three things that I’ve learned never to discuss with people: religion, politics, and the Great Pumpkin.”

Is that what baseball talk has become to some people? As polarizing as discussing politics or religion?

Anything I write on my blog is not intended to cause any negativity; these are my thoughts about various baseball topics and I am sharing them in a public setting. Again, I can handle people disagreeing with my opinions – and I have no problem with polite and intelligent debate. You can even call me out if I an incorrect about stats, dates, etc. I am human and will make mistakes. But I would never insult your writing or your opinion, and I appreciate it if other writers did the same for me, and for any other writers out there.

None of us would be writing about baseball if we weren’t passionate fans who wanted to share our opinions. But we’re just that – fans. None of us have been asked to replace Joe Girardi or Brian Cashman, for example, and until that happens we’ll remain where we are. We’ll keep discussing the previous season and the moves made (or not made) this off season. Don’t be one of the few who make a baseball discussion controversial. For some of us, baseball is our religion!

Comments on: "Polarizing Baseball" (2)

  1. Hey, awesome piece, really caught my eye. I would love for you to visit my blog and have some fun talking about Yankee baseball. After reading this piece I can tell you’re super passionate and those are the fans I’m looking for to get some good Yankee conversation going. Check it out this weekend and help me make an awesome community of Yankee fans who touch base every week to look back on the Yankee week.

    Like

  2. Thank you for your comment! I’ve followed your blog and look forward to reading your posts. I’m always interested in friendly Yankees chat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

